Board of Directors

Message from the RMA President

Hello Rocky Mountain APPA!!

What an honor it is to be named president of this great region!  I am excited to learn from and share with you as I lead our organization.  As I begin my tenure, I need to thank Lisa Potter, immediate past president.  She has left such a large footprint to follow. Her dedication and professionalism to the association, region, and profession is a true example of what a  great leader is.

Over the last year, as president elect, I was asked, “what do you want to accomplish as president of RMA?”  As I shared, it is what WE accomplish.  In the coming year, I ask that you get involved! As each of you promised to “support and assist officers whenever you were called upon,” I am calling upon you to support and assist. The RMA Board is a resource to all members of the region and continually looks at ways to encourage and involve members. In order to be successful, our members need to be and feel a part of the organization they belong to.  As Dale Carnegie has stated, “People support a world they help create.”

Generation X’ers and Millennials, you are not only the future, you are the NOW of RMA and APPA. We need you to get involved! Programs designed to engage and welcome you include the APPA Young Professionals (AYP)  and the 14ers Mentoring Program.  AYP is designed to allow you to engage, offer different and new perspectives, grow as a facilities leader, and contribute to and invigorate the broader membership. 14ers is designed to partner you with a mentor who have a passion for the profession, a desire to share their knowledge, and would also love to learn from you.

I encourage everyone to support our RMA regional goals. Everybody can be a mentor or mentee through the 14ers program.  Certification through the EFP or CEFP programs enhance your credibility in the facilities management profession. Bringing the Leadership Academy to your campus is a great way to build team cohesiveness and a clear vision for your facilities team.  With APPA and RMA allocating funds when your institution has 20 or more participants on campus, your per student cost is practically 50% off!!  Finally, ensure your institution renews their APPA membership.  These goals are meant to give back to the members and support the APPA International president’s (Chris Kopach) goal of “Harnessing and Transferring of Knowledge.”

Rocky Mountain APPA has so much to offer if you are willing to participate. Please reach out to any board member for guidance and/or support.

I look forward to seeing what we create in the next year.

Thank you.

 

Luis H. Rocha

RMA President

University of Arizona

 

President

Luis Rocha
University of Arizona
rochal@email.arizona.edu
520-621-1599


Jr. Rep

Lisa Potter
University of Colorado Boulder
lisa.potter@colorado.edu
303-492-1428


Sr. Rep

David Turnquist
University of Colorado Denver
David.Turnquist@ucdenver.edu
303-724-1100


Communications Coordinator

Rachel Stone
University of New Mexico
racheld@unm.edu
505-277-7831


Secretary

Wim Chalmet
University of Lethbridge
wim.chalmet@uleth.ca
403-380-1837


Treasurer

Mary Jane (MJ) Thompson
Salt Lake Community College

801-957-4276


2017 Host Committee Chair

Wayne Clark
BYU Idaho
clarkw@byui.edu
208-496-2510


2018 Host Committee Chair

Layna Johnson
University of Colorado Anschutz
Layna.Breyare@UCDenver.edu
303-724-0408


2019 Host Committee Chair

Michael Love
University of Calgary
mjlove@ucalgary.ca
403-220-7789


Annual Meeting Coordinator

John Herrera
Arizona State University
john.a.herrera@asu.edu
480-727-1774


Business Partner

Chuck Gumeson
RMH Group
cgumeson@rmhgroup.com
303-239-2716


Professional Development

Jenna Elmer
University of Arizona
jrelmer@email.arizona.edu
520-621-3849


Historian

Marie Wells
BYU Idaho
wellsm@byui.edu
208-496-2501


14ers Club Lead Climber

Keith Lemieux
University of Colorado Denver
Byron.lemieux@ucdenver.edu
303-315-1837


APPA Liason

Kristin Witters
APPA
kristin@appa.org
703-542-3832


Awards and Recognition

Steven Gasser
University of Calgary
sdgasser@ucalgary.ca
403-220-7001


Membership

Timothy Dobson
New Mexico State University
tdobson@nmsu.edu
575-646-8026


Information and Research

Kent Andersen
Sheridan College
kandersen@sheridan.edu
800-913-9139


Professional Affairs

EJ Hook
Montana State University
edward.hook1@montana.edu
406-994-7840


Professional Development

Jenna Elmer
University of Arizona
jrelmer@email.arizona.edu
520-621-3849


Awards and Recognition

Steven Gasser
University of Calgary
sdgasser@ucalgary.ca
403-220-7001


Membership

Timothy Dobson
New Mexico State University
tdobson@nmsu.edu
575-646-8026


Information and Research

Kent Andersen
Sheridan College
kandersen@sheridan.edu
800-913-9139


Professional Affairs

EJ Hook
Montana State University
edward.hook1@montana.edu
406-994-7840